Maji desu ka SKA! [A really small Review]

2 Mar

I just listened to the “preview” of the new single. I have to say, I didn’t expect the kind of catchy, upbeat, happy song the Golden Era was known for. Still, I liked it, but not as much as I would want (I’m not really a fan of upbeat songs, with the exception of “Souda!”). But hey, at least they seem to have already given up with the “Oh I’m such a sad girl I need love fast” kinda songs. Good move there, Tsunku♂. It’s weird too. I don’t feel like I’m listening to the Momusu of 2011. It feels like I’m back in 2004, when every song H!P did had a “never-ending fun” feeling around them, when Tsunku didn’t gave a fuck about anything. He just made songs, crazy ass songs, upbeat songs, random songs, stupid songs, and most of them became classics in the fans ears. A lot of people compare “Maji Desu Ka SKA!” with “Koko Ni Iruzee!”, and it’s true. For me it has a more Petitmoni-ish kinda sound.

In fact, the song itself doesn’t amuse me as much as hearing the new members sing do. I mean, I lost the track of how much I raped the play button just to hear them sing, again and again and again. I was surprised too. Videos show them really nervous and restless as they record the song. I really feared they would sound Koharu-like. But it wasn’t like that at all. Riho rocked it, Ikuta’s voice was a little bit deeper than Riho’s, so I basically thought the same of her. Mizuki’s part I expected to be fabulous (given that she is the experienced one), but it wasn’t that special. Still, pretty darn good. But Suzuki surprised me to no end. Her voice is way lower than any of the other 3, so that and that her voice rocked made her stand out. Maybe it’s just me, but I have a thing for girls with deep voice, like Takahashi (Lulz) or Chisato. Seriously, if Chisato didn’t exist, I would really give a fine fuck about C-ute. But let us not make this a “Why I could love C-ute more but I just don’t care enough” post. It may be one in the future though.

How could you say “No” to this face?
Like this.

Le Video

A new era has begun. 9th Generation time has come. Don’t wet your pants AKB48. Although you don’t have to, I really doubt they overpower you.

2 Responses to “Maji desu ka SKA! [A really small Review]”

  1. Roddy Reta March 2, 2011 at 10:47 pm #

    We need more WOTAs with your writing style, man.

Leave a Reply

